E is for Elephant

EElephants are a controversial animal. Many people have an opinion on whether or not elephants should be in captivity. Truth of the matter is, there are no “backsies”. You can’t take back having animals in captivity. You can’t simply throw them back out in the wild again. (At some point in the future, I’ll write a lengthy post on animal’s in captivity, but now is not the time for that). Also, elephants are a species of animal that may very well only survive because of captivity.

There are two different kinds of elephants in the world. One is the African Elephant and the other is the Asian Elephant. Both named after the area of the world they live in. Like the camels I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I often struggled remembering which one was which. Until someone said this to me.

An African elephant has much larger ears, that are shaped like Africa.

african

An asian elephant has smaller ears.

asian

Other defining differences is that in African elephants, the males and females both grow tusks, but in Asian elephants only the males do. Female asian elephants can grow small little nubs for tusks, but nothing like a full grown elephant tusk. Another difference is just the build of their bodies, but for a quick reference to tell the difference between the two, it’s in the ears.

african_asian_elephant_comparison

© Semi Charmed Life

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge!

14 thoughts on “E is for Elephant

  1. I absolutely adore elephants. Especially the African one, because they look so much stronger and fierce than the Asian one. I think these animals are so clever, so strong, so beautiful. Have I said I adore them?

    Rebel xox

  2. My sibling always says, and I’ve long been with him on this, that elephants would be given their own country if he were emperor of the world. They’re such amazing creatures, and they’re so smart. It’s sad to see what we’ve done to them and to so many other species.

  3. Elephants are one of my favourite animals. Originating from Zimbabwe I saw many in the wild, and I have to admit I hate seeing them incaptivity, or in circuses *growls*.
    Random fact, my father’s friend was killed by an elephant whilst they were in the army together.

    Flip xx

    • It can be hard seeing them in captivity, but I can tell you there are a lot of people out there, like me, that try our best to make their lives enjoyable. Sadly, I fear captivity may be the only way we see elephants in the future.

  4. Funny, I just watched the movie ‘Water for Elephants’ the other night- and while it’s fun to watch the elephant in the movie, you can’t help but wonder how she was treated and what her living conditions were.
    Great little top on how to tell apart African and Asian elephants!

  5. Elephants are one I actually can remember which is which. 🙂 I’m pretty sure someone told me about the ears when I was a kid and that’s why I can always tell them apart now. I love elephants. They are so smart and so loyal to their family. 🙂 I’m really enjoying your A to Z posts!

Share your thoughts!

