advent 15

It’s December fifteenth and day 15 of expressing what makes me happy during this holiday season. Come back everyday for a new photo set. Today, my happiness is, reindeer!

Being an animal lover, reindeer are certainly a joyful example of Christmas. The great stories and songs of Santa’s sleigh being pulled by magical, flying reindeer. The most famous of those reindeer being Rudolph, the red-nosed reindeer.

rudolphThis is my version of Rudolph in my home. I honestly don’t remember where he came from. I’m sure he was a gift from someone, just can’t remember who!

IMG_7136

While growing up, there were these two reindeer figurines that my mother put out every year as part of the christmas decorations. As a child, I remember playing with these reindeer, much to my mother’s disapproval. They are absolutely breakable, but as you can see, they are in one piece, the years of love have worn them a bit though and now they have a place in my home.

IMG_7143But my absolute favorite reindeer I have, is this one. This was also one that I played with a lot as a child and this one is not easily broken. It is an ornament, but it was always too heavy for the tree, so it was usually used as a decorative piece instead. I love this reindeer. When I look at it, I think of Christmas present and past.

IMG_7140Of course, the most beautiful of all reindeer are the real ones. Unlike popular belief, I don’t live in Sweden, so reindeer are not found in the wild here. I could have gone to the zoo and perhaps tried to photograph a few, but I’m admitting I do not love you readers enough to do so ;). I’m trying to only use my own images for this advent calendar project, but today, I have to make a few exceptions. The photograph of Rudolph and the following photographs of reindeer, were all taking off of the internet. Apologies, but isn’t the baby reindeer adorable? Had to share some images of these beautiful animals and yes, they really do pull sleighs. Fun fact about the reindeer, scientists have recently discovered (October 2013) that their eyes change colors according to the seasons. In the warmer months, their eyes appear to be gold in color and in the colder months, they turn blue.

© Semi-Charmed Life

4 thoughts on “advent 15

  1. I recently did a post -December Relic-about my thirty seven year old Christmas cracker that I made when I was five years old, which my less than enthusiastic wife tries to hide each year on the back of the tree. She called it a ‘thirty seven year old bog roll’, how dare she!
    So I understand completely your sentiment. And that cool fact about the eyes of a reindeer-I will remember that.

  2. Ooooh the Bambi is absolutely adorable! It immediately made me think of my Swarovski Bambi, where he has almost the same expression on his face.
    And the relaxing Rudolf with his scarf? So cute!

    Rebel xox

Share your thoughts!

