advent 8

It’s December eigth and day 8 of expressing what makes me happy during this holiday season. Come back everyday for a new photo set. Today, my happiness is, stockings!

I love stockings. They come in all shapes, sizes, and themes. Anything you could like, is possibly on a stocking. Growing up, I’ve had a variety of stockings from teddy bears to The Lion King. Admittedly, I didn’t grow up in a house that stuffed stockings, even though we did have them. Most of my gifts were the kind you wrapped, not stuffed into a stocking. It wasn’t until I started dating later in life, that I got to experience the “stocking stuffer” gift. Stockings are a symbol of the holidays for me. Especially hung on the fireplace mantle. I no longer have a fireplace, so I’ve made do with the hanging of stockings.

The first stocking, is my favorite, because it belongs to one of the loves in my life. This is my dog’s stocking. Her name is Mattie and she is admittedly, spoiled all year round. But still, every family member should have a stocking, small or large.

IMG_6942

The second stocking belongs to the cat my husband had during our first few years together. She has passed away, but her stocking still goes up every year. For now, I use this stocking for Tobias, the ferret. Though, I really should look for a ferret stocking!

IMG_6946The third stocking, is mine. Of course, it screams that it’s mine. Anyone who knows me, knows that I love orcas and have always loved Sea World. As I mentioned above, you can get a stocking of anything! For now, this stocking is for my husband.

IMG_6944The final stocking is mine and I believe handmade by a relative, though ashamedly I can’t remember who made this stocking. It has been personalized with my name, though that has been blurred out of the picture.

IMG_6948

Are your stockings hung?

Β© Semi-Charmed Life

6 thoughts on “advent 8

  1. I think I have done stockings only one year, when my kids were still little. That was still back in South Africa and my mom came to visit with so much toys and we really spoiled the kids rotten that year.

    Love that you have stockings for the pets too πŸ™‚

    Rebel xox

  2. When I was a kid, my mom made all of us stockings out of this soft felt material. We each had a special symbol sewn onto it that represented us. I had a gingerbread man, my sister had an angel, and our youngest , the “baby”, has a rocking chair. To this day, I’ve never had a stocking I’ve loved more. Oh, and we just got a puppy this year, and of course I’ve spoiled him with gifts. Now he needs his own stocking!

Share your thoughts!

