advent 7

It’s December 7th and the seventh day of this blog’s advent calendar. Come back each day to view a new photo set that expresses my happiness of the holidays. Today, my happiness is frozen bodies of water.

Near my house is a forest and in that forest are several large ponds. There’s something so beautiful when the weather begins to get very cold and the water starts to freeze. As a child, back in California, there was a mall in a neighboring city and in this mall, there was an ice rink. Now this ice rink was open year round, not just for the holidays. I did a lot of ice skating as a child, and roller skating. I was an 80s kid, so of course there were lots and lots of roller skate parties, but I digress.

Ice skating was always part of my life as a child. Weird considering I lived in a place that never saw snow. Eventually, that ice rink got torn out and a food court was built in its place. Damn those modern mall trends.

Today, I get to enjoy the beauty of nature and its natural ice rinks. My mother, who was born and raised in Switzerland in the Canton of Neuchâtel, tells me there was once a time that the lake would freeze just enough and one could ice skate from the city of Saint-Blaise to Neuchâtel. That sounds unbelievable to me today.

© Semi-Charmed Life

 

5 thoughts on “advent 7

  1. Pingback: Where are the clouds… | A Little Tour in Yellow

  2. Yet again you have managed to put together a very nice collection of photos to give an idea of the area you live in. I do wonder though – do you still ice skate? Have you ever done so in Switzerland?

    Rebel xox

    • I don’t ice skate as much as I used to. In fact, I don’t think I’ve been ice skating since I left California. The people I used to work for would rent out an ice rink for their Christmas parties. Every year was so much fun! So, no, I have never been ice skating in Switzerland. At least, not that I can remember. But, we never visited Switzerland during the cold seasons when I was a child. We were always here during the summer.

Share your thoughts!

