beating my obesity – week three

09Last week was somewhat of a disappointment with not losing any weight, but I didn’t gain any either. So all in all, it was all successful. Plus, I know my body is starting to hold onto my fat in response to my fewer calorie intake.

This week brought on a new run with the Couch to 5K podcast. It was 90 seconds of running with 90 seconds of a brisk walk and then 3 minutes of running with 3 minutes of brisk running, each one done twice. Again, the hardest part was the first 90 seconds, but once I get past that, the rest of the run goes smoothly. It is also quite possible that the first 90 seconds is the hardest part because the beginning of my run starts on an incline. I am looking forward to what next week has in store. I hope to be able to keep up with my running while I am in the states. I won’t have the peaceful forest while there. I’m hoping to get a visiting membership at a gym and I’ll probably do my running on a treadmill.

I had a random thought when I was thinking about weight loss. It is plain to see that it is much easier to gain weight than to lose it. In theory, a healthy and realistic weight loss plan is about 1lb a week. If I were to accomplish 1lb a week, it would take 30 weeks for me to lose the 30lbs I gained. That’s more than half a year. Wow. But I wouldn’t want to stop there. I’m pretty sure I want to keep going and lose another 20lbs. That would be 50 weeks of weight loss. So, I best strap myself in, because this is going to be a year’s journey of weight loss. Time to turn up my patience and keep my motivation at a high.

Now, this week’s moment of truth…. the weigh in …

So it seems my body really wants to hold onto the 3lbs I lost. I did lose weight, but only about 0.7lbs with this weigh in. I’ve not gone below 166. I’m hovering between 166 and 167. Oh well, I hope to see some bigger changes soon. Last night I indulged. I went to a BBQ at a friend’s house and I ate and drank as much as I wanted. I figured, an indulgence like this only once a week (if that) isn’t going to destroy my losing weight? Or is it? Am I fooling myself thinking that one day of indulgence will not ruin all the work I’ve done during the rest of the week?

In any case… bring on the week. I’ll be going to the states, and I suspect I may not be a very good girl at times, but I will do my best while there.

Created by MyFitnessPal – Free Calorie Counter

© Semi-Charmed Life

Related articles

3 thoughts on “beating my obesity – week three

  1. Good for you on enjoying the BBQ and eating what you wanted. Back in 2005 when I was on a heavy, controlled diet, I was told to indulge at least once a week to be able to keep up with it. You are doing well 🙂

    Rebel xox

  2. Pingback: beating my obesity – a little update | Semi-Charmed Life

Share your thoughts!

