beating my obesity- week one

09Monday, June 24, 2013

Today began my fight against my obesity.

As a workout, I began my first day of couch to 5K. I actually found it a lot of fun to do. The podcast was easy to follow. All in all, I only did a total of 8 min of running, but it’s better than what I did yesterday, which was nothing.

Let’s not forget that my dog walks also count towards calorie burning.

As far as eating goes, I did not do very well. At the end of the day, I still ate more calories than I burned, but I’m still happy about using MyFitnessPal to keep up to date in calculating my calories burned and calories consumed.

Even though it was not a successful day for weight loss, it was a successful day in taking the right steps towards it.

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Today is a rest day from running, but I did manage to get a lot of walking done with the dog instead. I’m pretty sure I’m getting more of a workout than intended since my walks and runs have me in the forest with lots of uneven terrain. In total I walked 7.34 km with my dog.

I also picked up my Mean Abs June workout, only 5 more days to go!

I was much more successful today when I inputed all my calories burned and ingested. I came out ahead of the game. This made me happy. My Fitness Pal told me that if I stayed on that road, I would be 155lbs in 5 weeks. At first, this had me a bit bummed. That’s it? I’d still be overweight in 5 weeks time, however, when I sat back and really thought about it, that is a very good achievement. It will mean that I have lost 15lbs, more or less. That does make a difference in how I look, even if I will still be overweight. I must be patient and keep on going with this good momentum.

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Another day of Mean Abs June. Only four more to go now!

Today was back to running/walking with the aid of the Couch to 5K podcast. I really enjoy my runs and it’s nice to know that I feel very comfortable with them. I could easily keep going and at a higher pace, but I know it’s best to keep things steady. This week I am only running a total of 8 min. The program has you running for 60 seconds and then walking briskly for 90 seconds. There is also a 5 min warm up and a 5 min cool down. I like it and I am enjoying myself and that is what matters most.

My calorie consumption was successful again. Yay! I had spare calories left over! Well on my way to being around 15lbs lighter in 5 weeks. *fingers crossed*

Thursday, June 27, 2013 

The interesting thing is that I am finding it takes a bit of time to count my calories. My Fitness Pal is a god send though! Even foods I find here in this country are on that website. It truly makes counting my calories easier. I’m kind of enjoying having this to focus on. The only difficult part will be going out to restaurants. Europe hasn’t adapted what the US has by listing calories right there on the menu for you. At least I’ll be able to count my calories while in the US. We’ll be doing a lot of eating out of course.

No running today, it is a designated rest day. Of course I did my Mean Abs June workout and kept up with my dog walks. In fact, I ended up walking a total of 12.54 km!

I blew my calories out of the water and ended up with 1,701 calories to spare at the end of the day! Which My Fitness Pal scolded me for, but I just wasn’t hungry today.

Friday, June 28, 2013 

As always, I completed my MeanAbs workout for the day. Only two more days to go!

Went on a shorter walk with the dog in the morning and had Thai lunch with the husband that afternoon. It was an indulgence. Sadly, I really have no way of knowing exactly how many calories I consumed during lunch. Restaurants here don’t have that information available to you. It was also a buffet style too. I had to guess how much I ate and used generic information off of the MyFitnessPal website. I could have consumed more or less calories from that lunch, so here’s hoping my generic calculations were close to being on the mark.

I went on my couch to 5K run today to help counter some of those lunch calories. Even though I waited over an hour after eating to go on that run, it still felt a bit lunch heavy. I did well on the run though.

Saturday, June 29, 2013

It’s a rainy day in Switzerland.

Completed my Mean Abs June workout for the day and went on a much shorter walk than usual with the dog due to the rain.

The weekends are going to be the days I need to count my calories the most. I burn a lot less calories on the weekends than I do during the week and sometimes I eat more on the weekends.

Sunday June 30, 2013

Today was my last day of the Mean Abs June workout. The final count was 100 sit-ups, which I did in two sets of 50. 200 abdominal crunches, which I did in 4 sets of 50. 60 push-ups, which I ended up having to do as “girl style”, with 2 sets of 30. My arms are simply not strong enough to do all those push-ups in the normal position. Finally, a 2min plank. I think I will keep going with the sit-ups and crunches. I’ll probably do the push-ups as well but at my own pace and the correct way.

This morning was judgment day. I decided I would weigh in once a week. When I got on the Wii Fit to calculate my weight, I said I was going to be happy with any amount of weight loss, even if it was under 1lb. Well… I lost a total of 3.5lbs! This is definitely helping me keep my motivation and it’s nice knowing all my efforts ARE paying off!

Created by MyFitnessPal – Nutrition Facts For Foods

6 thoughts on “beating my obesity- week one

  1. Go you! That is a lovely result for the first week!

    I too really *have* to do something and where I am nowhere as active as you are, I will start tomorrow by drinking lots more water and watching what I eat. I might go out walking once or twice a week, depending on how busy I am, but definitely want to start doing something.

    I will follow your progress 🙂

    Marie xox

  2. Pingback: beating my obesity – week two | Semi-Charmed Life

  3. Pingback: Learning curves | Creating J.Lyn

  4. Pingback: beating my obesity – week three | Semi-Charmed Life

  5. Hey there! It sounds like things are going great for you so far! The couch to 5k program is a great start – it’s what I used to build myself up to run a marathon. Like you, when I started the program I was very overweight (~330 lbs) Over the course of about 2 years I dropped 100+ lbs and successfully ran a marathon! It takes a lot of time and determination, but it is well worth it! Kudos to you for having the courage to start!

Share your thoughts!

