advent 19

It’s December nineteenth and day 19 of expressing what makes me happy during this holiday season. Come back everyday for a new photo set. Today, my happiness is, candy canes!

Let’s face it, in the states, it’s not christmas without the candy cane. You get them at school, you get them from friends, at work, and you certainly receive a candy cane after having sat on Santa’s lap. They come in all flavors and colors too, not just in the standard white and red striped peppermint. To be honest, I never cared much for the peppermint flavored kind. If I bought candy canes, they were usually the other flavors. Having said that though, I absolutely do love peppermint in my hot chocolate and coffee this time of year.

IMG_7277

If you’re wondering why I don’t have any real photos of candy canes on this post, it’s because here in Switzerland, candy canes are not part of the holidays. So, I can’t find them in the stores.The closest I will get to peppermint is by visiting Starbucks. Another item I love during the holidays is peppermint bark, which again, is something I have to get from the states. I love Ghirardelli’s version. (following pictures are from the internet)

© Semi-Charmed Life

 

Share your thoughts!

